PDA

View Full Version : Universal Electronics Nevo SL

Red2001GSR
12-18-2005, 03:32 AM
Hello, I've been lurking this board for quite awhile, but never posted anything. I figured that since I've leeched so much from here, my first post should be a contribution as opposed to a plea for help (which I'm sure will eventually happen)

I'm by no means a professional reviewer, and this should be taken with a grain of salt, as it's just my experience and I could be an idiot.

A bit of background on me:
I'm a partner in a fairly new integration firm in Indianapolis, IN. I've been in the A/V industry for 10 years now, started in sales - then moved on to become a trainer for Thomson Multimedia... I trained the New Technology team (think early days of the DTC100, I probably talked to some of you, and told you how to get the raster centering right when breaking VGA out to 5 BNC's. I'm also the one who broke the news on AVSForum about the software upgrade which addressed the different retrace timings, almost got in trouble for that one)

Anyhow, nice to meet ya,

WARNING!
This review ONLY applies to the Nevo SL prior to the upgrade. I have not yet tried to play with it since then, but will give it a shot after writing this review, and then update it where appropriate as to track UEI's problem solving.

I will start by saying that I bought the first Nevo SL/NevoLink combo to hit the shelf at our local AVAD store. I was skeptical, but intrigued by it's capabilities, so I bought one to tinker with and see what I thought. My impressions are as follows:

First Impression - Opening it up
Upon peeling the plastic off the box I was immediately pleased by the solid firm feel of the box. Lifting the lid did nothing but encourage me. I know it sounds stupid, but this is one hell of a nice box. I suggest at least getting one so you can use the box for whatever you use boxes for.