PDA

View Full Version : HomeLogic system

idodishez
03-21-2006, 05:02 PM
Well I thoght I'd post this for anyone interested. These are just my initial observations, and i am by no means an expert reviewer like many on here. As such, some of my comments may seem obvious to the more experiences guys. This is also VERY early in the install process. All I have connected as far as "sub systems" right now is distributed audio and messaging.

I installed the system and had it talking to the sub systems in about a day. So far this is what has stuck out.

I have some doubts on their suppoort capabilities. A lot of the questions I posed to them seemed to be new to them. That concerns me when I thought I was going with a proven track record, and not a Control 4 style Beta test:) They DID however, (confirmned by other H/L dealers as well) seem VERY interested in wanting to know WHAT it is we need/want, and actually pursuing it.

Issues I have come across so far, in no particular order

1. No ability to control/monitor sub (A-bus) zones of the Russound CAV6 DA system.
2. No digital audio out (Id like to be able to use the media server as a source for a main theatre room, and have more than just the in-wall speakers)
3. No video out for Media server GUI to a NON touchpad equipped (but TV equipped) room (Like the Escient or Request would have) (Again, Id like to be able to use in a main theatre room, that is not part of the DA system. No KP, TP, etc)
4. System locked up on me a few times. (That may have been more a Java issue than a H/L issue)

Some "possible" concerns. These may be just due to my lack of training on the product yet.

1. Seems to be nothing more than a (salty) regular PC with their software installed.